The private messaging system has just been updated -- apologies for the delay on this -- internet in Burma was, umm, difficult!
A couple of changes:
a) the layout has been changed a little to make it somewhat easier to read
b) You now have the ability to archive (not delete) any message you have sent or that you have received. Once a message is archived it will no longer appear on your screens -- but it will still appear in the recipient/senders screen, so from a browsing perspective, for you, it is by all accounts deleted -- but it isn't actually deleted from our records. Messages cannot be unarchived -- if you really need something unarchived, PM me and I'll do it manually.
A bit more explanation why we went with archiving rather than deleting
It is not actually deleted because of the way we store the messages in the database. Each message is a single record that is shared between two members, so for example, if I message Captain_Bob saying "Hey man" then we have a single message that is shared between somtam2000 and Captain_Bob.
If we were to allow Somtam2000 to actually delete that message, then that would mean it would also vanish from Captain_Bob's received messages. That wouldn't matter if the message was just "Hey Dude", but if it was say train timetable information or contacts for a guesthouse or a person etc etc, which Captain_Bob might be keeping in the PM system for later use, then that wouldn't be so hot.
So, we decided to allow members to archive the messages rather than delete them to avoid situations like this where the recipient (or the sender) might not actually want the message deleted.
So if you archive a message it has no effect on how it appears for the recipient or sender -- it solely effects how it all appears to you.
Hope that makes sense - if you have a question about it, let me know.