Burma forum

Booking hotels through Agoda

• apeiron75

Joined Travelfish
    17th October, 2013

Hi all

I want to minimize the amount of cash I have to bring around in my coming trip, and I noticed that booking hotels through Agoda will help as I can pay them by credit card and they will take care to send the money to the hotel.
    Anybody has experience if this actually works? Any flaw in the logic?

thanks!

#1 Posted: 20/10/2013 - 15:57

• Advertisement

• caseyprich

Joined Travelfish
    3rd March, 2010
    Location China
    Total reviews: 53
    Places visited:
    At least 48

I see you posted in the Burma forum, so I'll disclaimer that I've had no experience with Agoda in Burma. However, it has worked fine for me in Malaysia, Vietnam and Cambodia. Sometimes you can get a really good deal through Agoda as well, I remember a place in Kampot when we decided to stay an extra night the price nearly doubled because it wasn't the Agoda discount.

#2 Posted: 20/10/2013 - 23:07

• apeiron75

Joined Travelfish
    17th October, 2013

Thanks for your reply Caseyprich. I used already Agoda in SEA and found it very helpful. Indeed my question was more focused on Burma, as I will book hotels when I am there and just few days in advance: I would like to avoid finding out that for some hotels i still need cash..

#3 Posted: 21/10/2013 - 02:32

• somtam2000

admin
    Click here to learn more about somtam2000
    Joined Travelfish
    21st January, 2004
    Location Indonesia
    Total reviews: 24
    Places visited:
    At least 113

Nowhere I stayed in Burma during my trip earlier this year accepted credit cards. I was travelling at the "budget" end of the barrel, so cheapest I paid was $18, most $45, but all were cash only.

So yes, booking with Agoda will save you carrying around a sack full of kyat.