Burma forum

American student trying to travel to Burma

• naloring

Joined Travelfish
    23rd September, 2009

I am a female American college student studying abroad in Hong Kong, and I am trying to travel to Burma while I am here. I do not know anyone who wants to come with me, so I want to either hire a guide or book a tour so I am not traveling alone. I am having difficulty finding group tours, so maybe hiring a guide is better - however, am I correct that Americans must have a booked group tour in order to get a visa to travel to Burma? Also, how safe would it be for me to travel by myself with just a guide? Does anyone have a tour agency or tour guide that they used and would recommend? Is anyone traveling to Burma between now and mid-December who wouldn't mind me joining them?

I am also concerned with my money going to the military, so I want to make sure that I use privately owned hotels and services as much as possible. Any suggestions for how to do this? Does anyone have any tips for finding flights between Hong Kong and Yangon? Is there any other information I should know about traveling to Burma as an unaccompanied woman? Thanks for any help or suggestions.

#1 Posted: 23/9/2009 - 10:51

• Advertisement

• SBE

Click here to learn more about SBE
    Joined Travelfish
    14th April, 2008
    Location Global Village
    Total reviews: 5
    Places visited:
    At least 2

am I correct that Americans must have a booked group tour in order to get a visa to travel to Burma?

No. An American friend of mine (female) travelled to Burma on her own last January no problem at all and I also met Americans travelling independently when I was there. It's a very safe country ... for tourists. You won't get a visa if you put "journalist" or "photographer" on your visa application form whatever your nationality.