Flag of Cambodia

Cambodia forum

22 year old male traveling to Cambodia for the first time!

• ihoopjazz

Joined Travelfish
    5th November, 2010

Hi Friends,

I am new to travelfish.org and I love it! What a great website. I was wondering if anyone could make any recommendations for me as far as places to go and things to do in Cambodia. I will be visiting the country as part of a larger trip in February and will have around 2-3 weeks to spend in Cambodia. I am a 22 year old male, and I will be traveling alone. I do not speak Khmer. I am trying to do something a little different than the normal backpacker routine. I do not want to go to places to "party" all the time. I would like to see some interesting cities and meet some other travelers. I would much rather be immersed in the natural beauty of Cammbodia and experience the true culture of this country. I was thinking about visiting Kep and also going to Rabbit Island. Anyway, if anyone can make any suggestions that would be great! I look forward to hearing from some knowledgeable travelers. Thanks for reading!

-Ian

#1 Posted: 5/11/2010 - 20:58

• Advertisement

• Rasheeed

Click here to learn more about Rasheeed
    Joined Travelfish
    4th November, 2010
    Location Cambodia

For nature I would add a northern leg to the normal Phnom Penh-Siem Reap and beach route. Head to Kratie. Nice little riverside town. Go see the river dolphins. Take a motorcycle ride out in the countryside. Then head up to ratanakiri. Waterfalls, animals, trekking, national park.

That's what I thinks...

#2 Posted: 6/11/2010 - 11:31

• eastwest

Joined Travelfish
    17th December, 2009

With 3 weeks you could include a northern leg indeed.

As for Kep and Rabbit island: It's beautiful but either bring a good book or try to find some companions before you arrive in Kep. It's a quiet town and many couples and families visit so not a a very busy social scene for single travellers.