Flag of Cambodia

Cambodia forum

Cambodia trip with tour company? Advice? end march 2012

• Jen30

Joined Travelfish
    27th November, 2011
    Location United Kingdom

I'm hoping to go to Cambodia around the end of march 2012 for about 2weeks on my own. 30 yr female. Because it's my first time traveling alone, I was wondering if anyone could recommend a good tour group so that I can travel with a group, eg intrepid etc. Thanks

#1 Posted: 28/11/2011 - 13:47

• Advertisement

• KirstyB

Click here to learn more about KirstyB
    Joined Travelfish
    27th July, 2008
    Location Global Village
    Total reviews: 7
    Places visited:
    At least 197

Plenty of folks will tell you how easy it is to travel independently in Cambodia - and it is, and you'll meet lots of travellers particularly if you start in Siem Reap which is very sociable. However with limited time they may not all be on the same schedule as you and a tour allows you to see a lot in a short period of time. Anyway, there's much debate on this and other forums of the pro's and con's.

I've never been on a guided tour so can't make a personal recommendation but I know several people who highly rate Intrepid (including my sister who's travelled with them a few times) and I've also heard good things about G-Adventures (formerly Gap). Take a look at what they offer and try to pick a tour that stays in some of the smaller towns as well as the "main 3" (Siem Reap, Phnom Penh and Sihanoukville) to try and experience more rural settings.

#2 Posted: 28/11/2011 - 21:52

• Sarunn

Joined Travelfish
    11th October, 2011

alternatively you can do the adventure planning yourself and follow some of these handy trails -- Mekong Discovery Trails

As the rainy season is over there is likely to be tourists on the trails too... It is independent tailored travel for the adventure/ cultural traveler..