Flag of Cambodia

Cambodia forum

Rural Homestay/Rain forest/jungle suggestions

• echobeach

Joined Travelfish
    25th July, 2012

Hello, I have my first trip to cambodia coming up in September.

I have three weeks to explore but decided to stay in fewer places and explore in depth. I am a photographer and will spend 9 days in and around Siem Reap trying to capture Angkor.

I have also booked a 5 night stay in Phnom Penh before flying out to Bangkok for my return flight.

It is the height of the wet season and beaches do not appeal and have been searching for a more rural , quiet rainforest, trekking, adventure sort of stay for the remaining 6 days. i found Rainbow Lodge but the logistics and WET make it a long haul trip for a few days. i also found an ideal home stay close to Takeo but they do not take single travellers and are closed for most of September.

So any suggestions ? Anywhere in Western cambodia and easy access from Siem Reap ? Quiet, jungle experience, hiking options, lack of major tourism ,

Thanks, phil

#1 Posted: 25/7/2012 - 02:27

• Advertisement

• echobeach

Joined Travelfish
    25th July, 2012

Adds it was The Village Breeze Home stay that is partially closed and not accepting single traveller bookings in September .

#2 Posted: 25/7/2012 - 02:30

• MADMAC

Joined Travelfish
    6th June, 2009
    Total reviews: 10

You might want to check this thread. I think this lady stayed there as alone.

http://www.travelfish.org/board/post/cambodiaadditions/18815_village-breeze-homestay-in-rural-cambodia---life-changing-experience

#3 Posted: 25/7/2012 - 02:46

• echobeach

Joined Travelfish
    25th July, 2012

Hehe thats the place that is closed to singles during September.

Has decided to stay in Siem Reap for two weeks. As a photographer then will have lots of time to photograph temples and everything. Is looking for interesting tours out of Siem Reap. Any suggestions ?