Flag of Cambodia

Cambodia forum

HS grad going to Cambodia for 5 months

• joody96

Joined Travelfish
    26th June, 2013

I graduated high school in June and plan on taking a gap year before going to college. I visited Cambodia for two weeks and worked at an orphanage. I travelled with an absurdly expensive program filled with privileged kids who were just looking for community service hours and something flashy for their resume. While over their I fell in love with the culture and vowed to go back. I have made a connection with an orphanage in Phnom Penh and they have offered me a place to work for five months. They were quick to state that they would not "be able" to offer any sort of room/ board. I worry that this translates to me being of little value to them, is this a valid fear? I understand that my skill set is minimal but having nothing being provided is literally going to make me indebted to my parents. I also was wondering if volunteering at one place for all five months is the way to go or if I should spread my time out across a few? Finally, since there isn't room and board included, any ideas on a cheap but safe place to live? I was looking at real estate and anything in English was geared towards rich westerners, I just need one bedroom.

#1 Posted: 26/6/2013 - 12:59

• Advertisement

• MADMAC

Joined Travelfish
    6th June, 2009
    Total reviews: 10

You didn't explain what you wanted to do at the orphanage? Volunteering doing what?

You didn't mention your sex, because that would impact on your security given your age.

Hopefully someone here lives in PP and can help you out concerning finding a place to live that's not too pricey.

Keep in mind compared to most people in the world, you are a "priveledged kid". When I was 18 there was no way I had the resources to entertain what you are intending to do.

#2 Posted: 26/6/2013 - 13:58

• joody96

Joined Travelfish
    26th June, 2013