Flag of Cambodia

Cambodia forum

VIP 24 Hour Direct Bus from Siem Reap to Vientiane (as if...)

• NickyWoo

Joined Travelfish
    30th September, 2013

Hello, I've been browsing for a couple of years but this is my first post here

Just wanted to share my experience of taking the bus from Siem Reap to Vientiane . I'm guessing the same scenario has been posted up here before but I haven't come across it so here goes.

I was staying in some little hostel in Siem Reap (the Dancing Frog). The owner seemed a bit nuts but as I couldn't be bothered going to a travel agents I booked a ticket through him for the 24 hour direct VIP bus to Vientiane. The photographs of the bus looked lovely. Gorgeous reclining sleeper seats. All that was missing was a cocktail waiter.
    I can only assume that 'Direct' means something entirely different in Cambodia.

1 government/local bus, 5 minivans, an overnight 'spooning' bus and 48 hours later I finally arrived at my destination.

Firstly a minivan turned up at the crack of dawn to take me from the guesthouse in Siem Reap to the bus station. I then transferred to a government bus (i think) which kicked me out at Kompong Cham, then I got into a mini van which seemed to stop every half hour for the driver to get out, smoke a *** and chat to his mates before picking up a friend. A couple of hours later (no idea where), I had to get into another mini van and the same kind of thing continued.
    Things had gotten pretty sweaty by now. No aircon, couldn't even move my arms, way up too close and personal with strange men for my liking and wondering when the VIP sleeping bus is going to materialise.