Flag of Cambodia

Cambodia forum

which way round

• craigcraig

Joined Travelfish
    8th October, 2013

Hi, i am flying in to Bangkok, then to travel into Cambodia through to south Vietnan back up the east coast of Cambodia,( clock wise direction) i have 5 weeks flying back from Bangkok, can you give me an idea of the best route, i would like to vist places in thailand but its not my main aim, would prefer to get off the beaten track if possible, i am a photographer & this is my first time in Asia.

Thanks Craig

#1 Posted: 9/10/2013 - 09:36

• Advertisement

• JaiYen88

Joined Travelfish
    25th April, 2012
    Total reviews: 2

Are there any specific places in Cambodia you want to visit? What time of year are you going? If the rain is over, then head up to northeastern Cambodia, Ratanakiri / Mondulkiri provinces, that will get you well off the main tourist trail.

Siem Reap is also a must-see and it's hyper-touristy but IMO a great place. A full 2 weeks could easily be filled doing that, plus a quick stop in Phnom Penh. You should probably dedicate about the same length of time to south Vietnam.

#2 Posted: 9/10/2013 - 11:44

• Geer1

Joined Travelfish
    14th September, 2012
    Places visited:
    At least 42

I am confused, you are travelling through Cambodia, then up the coast of Vietnam, back into Cambodia on way back to Bangkok? That would be counter clockwise ;).

The only border crossing between east Cambodia and Vietnam is at Le Thanh. Do your research on this as I don't know how easy it is for tourists(ie what transport is available).