Flag of Cambodia

Cambodia forum

One month through cambodia: looking for hints!

• MartinaSmar-
    tiz

Joined Travelfish
    6th December, 2013
    Location Italy

Hi everyone!
    i'm currently in china and planned to spend the winter holidays (jan/12 to feb/13) travelling around cambodia with my boyfriend. we're arriving at and leaving from bangkok.

i want to enjoy tropical beaches but at the same time i don't want to miss the temples and the lush nature of this beautiful country.
    i figured out a rough list of the places i'd like to hit: bangkok, maybe one or two thai islands (koh samet, koh chang?), peam krasop, koh kong, sihanoukville and islands (really need help to choose which!), kampot, phnom penh, siem reap, and then back to bangkok. do you think it's too much for one month?

it's my first time in this part of the world so i'm looking for advices of any kind! in particular, i'd like to know what do you think about including thai islands in the itinerary and how many days would you recommend in the various places. i want to manage the time wisely enough to get at least two weeks of relax on the beach.

any suggestion will be very useful! thanks!

#1 Posted: 22/12/2013 - 11:30

• Advertisement

• eastwest

Joined Travelfish
    17th December, 2009

4 weeks sounds about right for that itinerary

I would personally skip Ko Samet . You can always add that island at the end of your trip if you go quicker than planned through the other destinations.

My thought would be to spend about a week on Ko Chang and the surrounding islands. Afterwards head to Sihanoukville for a short week to check the islands and beaches there.

Then you still have 2 weeks left to explore the rest of Cambodia. Calculate about 1 week for PP (2-3 nights) and Siem Reap (4-5 nights). That leaves you with a couple of days for Kampot ( on the way to PP) and to get back from Siem Reap to Bangkok.