Flag of Cambodia

Cambodia forum

Into Phnom Penh : Out of Ha Noi

• hihihello

Joined Travelfish
    27th May, 2009

Hi seasoned pros -

My girlfriend and I have just booked our flights for the month of September, and I'd really appreciate some advice for a potential itinerary...

Would

Phnom Penh (just arriving) - Ho Chi Minh - Phu Quoc - Phnom Penh (a little sightseeing) - Siem Reap (Angkor Wat) - Hoi An (tailors)...

Be a good start? How long in each? Where next?

-I'm an archaeologist/anthropology student, and interested in all that cultural immersion etc.

-She's similar, also keen on beaches and blah.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

#1 Posted: 27/5/2009 - 22:22

• Advertisement

• brucemoon

Click here to learn more about brucemoon
    Joined Travelfish
    27th December, 2008
    Location Australia
    Total reviews: 6

hihihello

There will be people who tell you do this, do that. If you follow their advice, you'll spend much too much time in buses/planes/trains/etc, etc..

What you have scheduled makes for much travelling time, but if planned well you can avoid spending too much time in (boring) travel.

As you say you are arriving in Phnom Penh (PP), I'd suggest you spend a full day there 'doing' the 3 'must see' museums (1st go see, Tuol Sleng, 2nd Choeung Ek, 3rd National), and the Royal Palace.

I'd then take a bus to Siem Reap . There, I'd buy a 3 day pass (just heard its 3 in 7) and take in the Angkorian temples. I'd suggest you get Lonely Planet 'Cambodia" and 'do' the temples in a 'time of erection' sequence: that way you can see the building style (and archaeological development) emerging from 800ad to the 'end' around 1200ad.

I'd also try and take in Tonle Sap as it nurtured and 'informed' the Angkorian 'regime'. Additionally, this environmental marvel is now under threat from upstream water diversionary demands.