Flag of Cambodia

Cambodia forum

Ho Chi Min to Angkor Wat and back...

• mizsarah

Joined Travelfish
    9th July, 2009

I have been told the easiest (but still affordable) way to get to Angkor Wat from Vietnam (HCM) is to book through a tour? I have about two weeks to decide what to do with. But I am not that interested in that necessarily. I am a teacher on a budget and also a person traveling alone and female. Any pointers on getting from HCM to Angkor Wat?

#1 Posted: 9/7/2009 - 01:20

• Advertisement

• BruceMoon

Click here to learn more about BruceMoon
    Joined Travelfish
    27th December, 2008
    Location Australia
    Total reviews: 6

sarah

The simple answer is that you can do yourself. But, to demonstrate, I'll explain...

Angkor Wat is one of literally dozens of temples in the World heritage Area known as Angkor.

The area is a 5 minute drive from the Cambodian city of Siem Reap .

Most people that visit the Angkorian temples read up on the subject and have a rough idea of what temples they want to see, and how long they want to spend looking at temples.

Information on the temples online, go here:

http://www.travelfish.org/sights/cambodia/western_cambodia/siem_reap/angkor

For a text, try the Lonely Planet text 'Cambodia'.

Entry to the Angkor area is by pass, purchased in either 1 day, 3 day (but can be used over 5 days) or more.

There are other worthwhile things to do/see in/around Siem Reap. On this, look at:

http://www.travelfish.org/location/cambodia/western_cambodia/siem_reap/siem_reap

- - -

To your question...

No, you don't need to go on a tour.

If you are concerned about getting lost in the Angkor complex, you can readily hire an English speaking guide at Siem Reap.

If you want to travel around the Angkor temples on your own, it is best to hire a tuk-tuk with driver (for about US$15/day). The drivers are licensed to enter the area, and know the routres very very well.

To get from HaNoi to Siem Reap