Cycling in Asia forum

want a bicycle?

• kristineell-
    en

Joined Travelfish
    15th February, 2007

I bought a bike from a guy in Saigon who had ridden down from Beijing. I cycled through Vietnam, Laos, and into Thailand, and I now have ten days before I fly out of BKK. If I find someone who is interested in buying the bike I would love to pass it one to an intrepid traveller, otherwise I will bring it home with me on the plane.
    The bike runs great, is equiped w/ panears and a repair kit/replacement tubes. I thouroughly enjoyed bicycling, and if there is someone else out there who would like to experience SE Asia at a different pace, I would be happy to answer any questions/help out.
    Happy travels,
    kristine

#1 Posted: 21/3/2007 - 19:03

• Advertisement

• tnog

Joined Travelfish
    27th March, 2007

Hi Kristine,

I don't need a bike, but just have a few questions. I'm a noob when it comes to SE Asia, but am currently living in India for the last 2 and a half years.

I'm planning a small cycle tour through SE Asia this July (yeah the weather! but don't have many other choices for taking time off of work) for about 2 and a half weeks. I'm not a cycle-tour noob, having previously done an 900km S. India tour.

It will be my first time in SEA though, and I was thinking about flying into Bangkok and cycling through Cambodia ending in Phnom Penh. I've heard that it's a really bad idea to ride during the monsoon season. I've heard from older reports (2002) that some sections of highway 5 and 6 in Cambodia are unsealed, and in bad shape, and hell when rained on.

What were your experiences of the roads? Were the main highways in good shape?

Thank You!

Tak

#2 Posted: 27/3/2007 - 14:43

• kristineell-
    en

Joined Travelfish
    15th February, 2007

Hey there Tak,