Finance and money forum

Good PrePaid Card, Credit card or Debit Card (from UK)...?

• lukusmaca

Joined Travelfish
    28th May, 2013

I'm based in the U.K and am travelling Asia for about 9 month to a year? I'l be starting in Nepal and then down through India, eventually making my way over to Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam.

I'm looking for a good Prepaid Card or Debit Card. And might be tempted into taking a Credit Card for emergencys. Can anyone recommend any good value cards? I'm very new to this and dont want to be caught out on all the hidden fees.

Thank you

#1 Posted: 28/5/2013 - 16:47

• Advertisement

• Nokka

Joined Travelfish
    6th April, 2009
    Location United Kingdom

The Halifax Clarity credit card is great for overseas travel. There is a 0% fee and you tend to get an excellent exchange rate too. Best of the bunch if you can get one.

Debit cards are expensive generally as you get hit by a 2.75% fee (usually) for the amount you take out of an ATM, plus often another £1 charge, for example. In addition you will usually be charged a fee by the bank which owns the ATM. (I think 150 Baht in Thailand, for example). Even using the card in hotels etc can mean a surcharge on your bill. This can all add up to quite a hefty charge, especially if you only take smaller amounts from an ATM.

Some Prepaid cards get good reviews, though haven't personally used one. Also have the added bonus of the ability to add money to the card from UK (by parents, for example). Fairfx is one I've heard good things about, but take a look at their website and get a handle on how the charges work.

#2 Posted: 29/5/2013 - 07:55

• lukusmaca

Joined Travelfish
    28th May, 2013

Thanx Nokka, think I'm pretty sold on taking a Credit Card now! I will have someone in England keeping an eye on it and paying off the balance every month.

#3 Posted: 1/6/2013 - 17:27

• Nokka

Joined Travelfish
    6th April, 2009
    Location United Kingdom