Finance and money forum

Hello and reassurance?!

• bmovieneil

Joined Travelfish
    27th September, 2013

Hi to all - newbie here. Firstly, hello - I've spent a fair amount of time reading the forum and it seems that this is a far more valuable (and far more friendly!) resource than certain other travel forums (mentioning no names *cough*..TT....)

Anyway.... my wife and I are are due to head off on a RTW trip in just over 9 months now. Having spent the past 2 years saving, reading, researching etc etc I am fairly confident in my figures and timescales etc. However, after spending the morning reading through various posts on here I guess I am just looking to some SE Asian experts for their opinion and to make sure we are not being unrealistic.
    I'm happy with our budgets for Russia, china, India and north and central america so I am just looking for peoples thoughts on the SE Asian region.
    We plan to spend roughly 5 months travelling the region. We don't have a set plan other than arriving in Vietnam from China and going with the flow from there (other than meeting friends in Thailand for new year). We will proably be aiming for the higher end of "budget" travel if that makes sense? Cheaper guesthouses or private rooms in hostels. Dont mind sharing a bathroom. Street food or cheap restraunts. Overnight trains to save on a nights accomodation. Sight seeing and plenty of walking. Visits to museums and sites, cheaper activities but nothing major like diving. Interested in relaxing and slow travel, discovering different food and cultures, meeting locals and other travellers and just generally chilling and exploring. We do drink but not in a "whhhooo spring breaaaak" crazy kinda way. More likely to be 4 or 5 beers in a chilled bar or on a balcony a couple of times a week.