Finance and money forum

What's the best Canadian bank to use to manage money in SE asia?

• Handsome_Boy

Joined Travelfish
    14th August, 2009

I'd been planning on doing a budget backpacking trip across SE Asia for a while, but some job-related opportunities came up which had me considering delaying the trip, but these opportunities didn't pan out and now I'd like to leave from Toronto landing into Bangkok within a couple weeks. I'm looking to do the standard, Thailand - Cambodia - Vietnam. I have no itinerary, and am pretty open to going/staying wherever I find I'm enjoying myself the most. I would be a first time traveler/backpacker so I have no experience in this kind of thing (Exciting!).

I have roughly $7.5k canadian which I'd like to last me from 3-5 months (basically until my money runs out), and I'm wondering which financial institution and method for managing my money is best. I haven't bought anything yet, and I'm budgeting roughtly 1.5k for flight in and out of Asia, so realistically I'm only working with around 5.5-6k.

My question is kind of loaded. Firstly, which Canadian bank would be best to use out there? Right now I bank with Royal Bank, which charges $5 per (international) debit transaction, I'm unsure of what sort of exchange rates they offer (not mentioned on their website). I know PC Financial has $3 debit transactions on top of a 2.5% charge on the quantity you withdraw. Are there better banks or is there some sort of bank account that I can apply for that will provide me with a good number of plus withdrawals at a decent cost?

Secondly, how much money should I keep on me? I'd like to minimize my debit costs, but also don't want to open myself up to great loss in case of theft. I'm planning on getting one of those discreet money belts where you can store cash in the lining of the belt. I read that withdrawing 1-weeks worth of cash is a good way to handle your money. Would 2-weeks be risky?

Thanks in advance.