Idle banter forum

Going to Nepal through India, has anyone?

• Mexicano31

Joined Travelfish
    8th April, 2010

Hello all,

Im travelling through SEA for some 6 months starting this July and I am thinking about doing a "in the middle" trip to Nepal and India around october. I see flights are cheap from KUL to New Delhi on Air Asia and then there are not too bad prices from New Delhi to Kathmandu. Im thinking 2 weeks in India to get a glimpse of the country and then 2 o 3 in Nepal to see some amazing landscapes and monasteries. Im really excited about this two countries since I am a photographer and the visual content would surely be amazing.

Has anyone around done something like this before? any tips, suggestions, warnings?

#1 Posted: 10/6/2010 - 04:11

• Advertisement

• Sophia_India

Click here to learn more about Sophia_India
    Joined Travelfish
    2nd June, 2010
    Location United Kingdom

Definately fly! the overland route takes ages and is very uncomfortable and exhausting and one of the worst journeys ever, for a little extra you can fly, its more convenient and is very quick too. Check http://www.cleartrip.com/ for the best deal flights which will give you all the prices for all the airlines and the times etc....

#2 Posted: 14/6/2010 - 20:57

• JourneymanT-
    raveller

Joined Travelfish
    28th June, 2010

I'd take the overland route simply because you see and experience far more. It depends, of course, on your stamina! We flew, from London, into New Delhi, then took a bus to Jaipur, then another to Agra. We then took the train to Varanasi (overnight) and then, finally in India, another bus to Chitwan in Nepal. From there, we took buses again to Pokhara and then to Kathmandu from where we flew out. Exodus do that exact route as a Discovery Tour so you could get some inspiration from that trip and investigate buses etc. It can be very challenging mind you, and you might want to fly some of the routes.