Idle banter forum

EEEKKK-- traveling SEA alone?

• emily_logan

Joined Travelfish
    7th February, 2009

Hi guys! This post is a little long, but please don't hold it against me!

This coming May (and two weeks in June) I'm planning on backpacking in South East Asia(Vietnam, Cambodia, and some other possibilities that I haven't decided on yet)BY MYSELF... for a lot of people this may not be a big deal, but its my first time so forgive me.

I'm 23 years old (female) and I was supposed to go with my bf of 4 years but we just broke up(amicably so no worries). I'm currently living in Korea, and I've been planning this "before I go home" backpacking trip since before I moved to Korea (2 years ago). So I figure if I don't do it just because my boyfriend and I broke up I'll be kicking my stupid self for the rest of my life. But at the same time I've never traveled by myself before (always with the boyfriend), so I'm really nervous, and although I keep telling my family that I'll be fine and that plenty of people travel SEA by themselves all the time, I haven't really convinced myself that I'll be alright yet. (unfortunately I watch a lot of Law and Order, and even more unfortunately its usually Special Victims unit!... so I'm a little paranoid.. hahaha)

I feel like I have the option to ask my ex along with me, but not only do I not want to end up arguing with someone at somewhere like Angkor Wat (that would be embarrassing), I also hate the idea of feeling like I have to bring him with me because I'm so lame that I can't do something by myself!

SO the point of this huge silly post is that I want to get some un-biased opinions/advice.

Is it safe for me to go alone? I'm pretty smart, but I can also be pretty naive sometimes. (isn't everyone?)