India forum

Laundromats in India???

• SamanthaThom

Joined Travelfish
    30th April, 2014

Hello Community,

I am trying to identify laundromats in a number of cities in India. Can anyone help?

I am a Relocation Manager for a large multinational company based in the U.S. We have some executives and their families (spouses, partners, kids, etc.) moving to quite a few cities around the world later on this year. It is part of my job to help the families sort out some details.

Self-service laundromats are the first thing on my to-do list. I need to identify:

1) Self-service or coin-operated laundromats only (where they can wash/dry their clothes themselves).
    2) Larger machines (and the more the better).
    3) 24 hour laundromats (this is preferable but not required - longer hours of operation are better).

Here are my cities:

Mumbai / Calcutta / Delhi / Chennai / Bangalore / Hyderabad / Pune / Ahmadabad / Surat / Kanpur

If anyone in the community has any reliable knowledge about any laundromats in any of those cities, please let me know. It would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Samantha

#1 Posted: 1/5/2014 - 12:18

• Advertisement

• exacto

Joined Travelfish
    12th February, 2006
    Location United States
    Total reviews: 47
    Places visited:
    At least 98

Hi Samantha,

Laundromats are certainly popular in the west, but my experience in Asia, as an expat, on short-term work assignments, and as a tourist is to use a laundry service. I've used everything from the mom & pop place at the corner who do laundry by the KG, to the expensive service associated with 4-star service apartments.