Southeast Asia forum

10 weeks Bali/Lombok/Borneo/Cambodia/Laos/Koh Tao

• pippeline

Joined Travelfish
    17th April, 2010

Hello all!

First of all, I want to thank travelfish for all this great advise!! It is really the most helpful site I found for this region.

I'm a 25 year old girl, going for a 2 month trip to SEA from july 25th till 1st of october. I would like to see lot of nature, beach and culture. I know I want to put quite a lot into this schedule, but I really want to do that all. But it would be really great if someone could take a look over my itinerary and tell me if this is possible and which sites I must not miss.

25/07-16/08: Bali and Lombok. I want to put my focus on Lombok and Gili Islands (could I do a diving course there?), but maybe want to do a surfing course on Bali, where would be the best place for that? (I am a complete beginner)

16/08-25/08: Borneo. Probably I will fly to Sandakan and see the Sepilok center, go overland to Kota Kinabalu by bus and after that fly to Miri to the Gunung Mulu National Park and than back to KL. How many days do you think I will need for the different spots? I don`t want to climb Mount Kinabalu.

25/08-31/08: Northeastern Cambodia: I will fly to Phnom Penh and go north to Laos. I want to see the dolphins and Rattanakiri. Is this both possible in this short time? I know that it`s raining season, and streets will get really muddy.

01/09-21/09: Laos from south to north, 4000 Islands, Vientiane, Vang Vieng (?), Luang Prabang, Huay Xai (I really want to do the gibbon experience). As I am going the other way through Laos than most people, do you think I will still find people to travel with? I'm travelling on my own, but don't want to be lonley all the time.. ;)
    Is there a nice town or something to split the bustravel between Pakse and Vientiane? It seems a quite long way!

21/09 - 29/09: Ko Tao. I don't really know yet what's the best way to get from Huay Xai to Ko Tao. What would you suggest?