Southeast Asia forum

Last 5 weeks of freedom! please help with my itinerary - Cambodia, Vietnam, Laos,

• Becca

Joined Travelfish
    13th July, 2010

Hi there,

My boyfriend and I are off on a 5 week, 35 day trip to South East Asia. Im a medical student and am trying to make the most of my freedom before I descend into a hospital ward never to be seen again!!Im pretty sure thats why my itinerary is way too full, but as I'm also a complete backpacking novice so i would love some help and advice, is this even feasible?

The plan of attack...

Day 1 and 2 - arrive bangkok, acclimatise, sightsee...
    Day 3 - bus to Poipet border, and on to Siem Reap
    Day 4, 5, 6 - Siem reap, moving on to Battambang in the afternoon of Day 6 (?bus)
    Day 7 - Battambang
    Day 8 - to Phnom Penh by bus
    Day 9, 10, 11 - Phnom Penh, moving on to Chau Doc, Vietnam by boat in the afternoon of day 11
    Day 11 - Bus to Rach Gia
    Day 12, 13, 14, 15 - Fly to and relax in Phu Quoc Island
    Day 16 - Fly to Saigon, sightsee, book train tickets etc
    Day 17 - Sightsee in Saigon then catch overnight train to DaNang
    Day 18 - Arrive Danang, bus/taxi to HoiAn
    Day 19, 20 - Hoi An and in afternoon of Day 20 go back to Danang to catch overnight train to Hanoi
    Day 21, 22, 23, 24 - Hanoi, cruise of HaLong bay, then back to Hanoi
    Day 25 - Bus Hanoi(if only we could afford the flight) to Luang Prabang, Laos
    Day 26, 27 - Luang Prabang
    Day 28, 29 - Journey up river, overnight in Pakbeng and on to Huay Xai, cross to Thailand and stay in Chiang Khong.
    Day 30, 31, 32, 33 - Travel to, sightsee, and trek around Chiang Rai
    Day 34 - Fly Chiang Rai to Bangkok
    Day 35 - Sightsee, shop etc before flying home

I also have a few questions,

Ive noticed many people seem to do the route the other way round, is there a reason?!