Southeast Asia forum

Safety for solo female traveller, 26

• twiggy84

Joined Travelfish
    18th August, 2010

Hi,

This will be my first time to SE Asia (and i'm relatively new at backpacking to begin with).

I wasn't worried but now everyone from back home has been telling me horror stories and warning me against travelling alone as a girl.

I was planning to do about 2 months from Singapore, Thailand, Laos, Vietnam, Cambodia, Phuket. I wasn't going to book anything in advance, more so just show up and get cheap accommodation (backpacker style!) and get info/travel advice from them to head to the next place (also have ideas of which places I want to head to, just not sure of how to get there or where to go once I arrive....etc).

Is this safe???? I was so excited but now the people from back home are putting ideas into my head that maybe it's not such a good idea........

Appreciate any advice :)
    Thanks!

#1 Posted: 18/8/2010 - 07:20

• Advertisement

• viajero2011

Joined Travelfish
    13th August, 2010

Sorry I can't really offer much advice as I am also a solo traveler about to embark on my first trip to SEA, but I would say you could hop over to the "travel companion forum" to try and meet up with some like-minded backpackers. There are plenty of us that are doing the same thing!!! Good luck and I'm sure you will get some great advice here on Travelfish....

Cheers,
    DB

#2 Posted: 18/8/2010 - 07:52

• neosho

Joined Travelfish
    13th August, 2008