Southeast Asia forum

Advice for a 3 week trip

• MrAndMrsA

Joined Travelfish
    9th February, 2011

Hi there newbie here. Advance apologies for asking questions which no doubt you have heard many times before. I did try searching, but alas, still confused so think some personalised advice may be in order!

We have the option spending a couple of weeks in SE Asia in June this year. As part of our whistlestop round the world trip we arrive in Bangkok on the 13th June and leave on the 3rd July from Singapore. I need to fill the time in between.

We're not really backpackers neither can we splurge this time round as it is an RTW. We have been to Malaysia before for our honeymoon and stayed in KL and Langkawi which we loved. We also have been to Thailand- Bangkok, Koh Samui and Koh Phangnan- we got back 3 months ago and loved Phangnan but not so much Samui being non drinkers and party goers.

We keep going round and round and not coming up with anything. Ideally we'd have a lot more time but it isn't really possible with the jobs we are in/family circumstances.

We thought about Indonesia and Malaysia. We definitely want to fit in Bali and are flexible on the rest. Air Asia have stop jaw dropping-ly cheap promo fares at the mo for domestic flights within Malaysia. Seems silly not to utilise those?

I was thinking BKK couple of nights, flight to KL, KL few nights, Cameron highlands/Taman Negara (is that suitable for a pregnant person?), Redang/Perhentian/Tioman/All islands? Possible?

We're not really travellers as much as holiday-ers I am ashamed to say.

Any ideas and thoughts would be welcome. Sorry if I haven't really made a lot of sense.

#1 Posted: 9/2/2011 - 00:38

• Advertisement

• MADMAC

Joined Travelfish
    6th June, 2009
    Total reviews: 10

"We're not really travellers as much as holiday-ers I am ashamed to say."

Why are you ashamed? Nothing wrong with wanting to spend your down time chilling out. Nothing special about being a "Traveller".