Southeast Asia forum

southeast asia for 5 weeks

• slemien

Joined Travelfish
    22nd February, 2011

My boyfriend and I are planning a trip to Southeast Asia for July 2011. Now, I know this isn't optimal timing as far as weather goes, but it is going to be the only option for us. We have absolutely nothing planned so far, and we have only just started doing research. Here are my questions:

1. Just how bad is the weather in Southeast Asia during July/August??

2. What cities/areas are absolutely must sees in Southeast Asia if we have a limited amount of time?

3. If we had to cut out one of the countries, which one would be best to leave behind?

4. About how much money is it going to cost for a 5 week long trip, not counting airfare to and from the peninsula itself?

I'm still new at this, I've only traveled out of country once before in my life (excluding Canada). I would love any feedback I can get. Thank you!!!

#1 Posted: 22/2/2011 - 03:50

• Advertisement

• goonistik

Joined Travelfish
    7th January, 2010
    Location Philippines
    Places visited:
    At least 9

With five weeks, I suggest you limit your travels to just one country. You can do two or three if you make a short jaunt into another country. For example, 4 weeks in Thailand and than about a week in Cambodia to see the Angkor Wat. Singapore-Malacca-KL-Penang-Thailand is another possibility.

There are all sorts of variations possible.

You have to do a bit more research to see which countries/destinations are more appealing to you.

#2 Posted: 22/2/2011 - 13:19

• eastwest

Joined Travelfish
    17th December, 2009

If you just want to see some highlights of the region, stick to a few countries. I personally don't see why you should limit yourself to 1 country but the majority of posters here seem to think it matters.

There are some excellent itineraries and budget plans on this website. Have a look at those.

My guess/bet would be something like this.

- 3 days Bangkok