Southeast Asia forum

Ideas for what to do in Southeast Asia

• bigperm178

Joined Travelfish
    25th June, 2011

Hello people! If anybody can give any advice whatsoever to me it would be much appreciated as i'm a newb to travelling.

Basically im heading off to Southeast asia on the 13th of july, arriving in bangkok on the 14th. I plan on spending about 3 weeks in Thailand, possibly a week in Laos and around 2 weeks in Vietnam. The only things we are definitely doing will be Full moon party, visit to Phiket and Phi Phi, Tubing in Laos just gonna wing it after that!

The plan is to end in Ho Chi Minh city after 5 weeks and move on to australia for a year.. I have my visa for thailand and australia sorted but nothing else set in stone. Can anyone advise on the best ways to travel to laos and on to vietnam, best place to cross the border, where/how to get visa's for Laos and Vietnam or even just recommended places to stop along the way and interesting things to see.

Thanks in advance!
    James.

#1 Posted: 26/6/2011 - 00:12

• Advertisement

• Thomas922

Joined Travelfish
    1st July, 2007
    Location Global Village

Every single question you have has been answered 10 times over in threads all over this site, Thorn Tree, Travellerspoint, and even easier, Lonely Planet's South East Asia on a shoestring. I suggest looking at it, and deciding what you want to do in each place first. What is best to cross depends on where you are. There are only a few places to cross outside of flying. You can do a search on Thai/Laos border crossings for example, find out where they are by looking on your LP guide map, having some idea of where you want to go in Laos, THEN we can say, try this or that. We can't plan your trip but give us some info so we can HELP you plan your trip.