Southeast Asia forum

First Solo Trip! One month in SEA (lots of questions!)

• Dayyanum

Joined Travelfish
    12th July, 2012

Alrighty folks, I'm excited to say that I've finally buckled down and started planning my first solo trip for November of this year. I have tons of questions, but will try to keep this post as simple as possible (seriously, I tried). Thank you for putting up with and/or playing along with my giddiness.

Things you should know:

- I'm a photographer, so getting pictures of just about dang near everything is important. People, landscapes, food, street life, animals, everything.
    - I adore animals. The more I can see and safely interact with, the better.
    - I'm adventurous, but not looking to kill myself. Just a teensy bit of wildness.
    - I'm a thinker, so do also want a little bit of quiet alone time if possible.
    - I'm okay with putting a lot of destinations/plans into this trip, because I don't want to just 'be' somewhere, but actually do and see things I couldn't elsewhere.
    ...in other words, this is not a 'spend a month in one village to soak up the culture' trip. I LOVE that concept, that's just not what this trip is for.

1) Below is my itinerary as planned, just want to see if it seems plausible. I have bolded the few things that I REALLY want to experience or accomplish for the trip, otherwise I'm flexible and open for suggestions.

Day 1-2 - Fly from US to Phnom Penh
    Day 3 - Rest day, maybe wander around a bit, eat some tarantulas
    Day 4 - Killing Fields and more wandering
    Day 5 - Bus to Siem Reap
    Day 6-12 - Siem Reap (temples, photography, etc)
    Day 13 - Fly to Ha Noi
    Day 14 - Le Mat to be an idiot tourist and swallow a live viper heart (I know, I know), more wandering, making sure I don't die
    Day 15-17 - Ha Long Bay (2 night trip)
    Day 18-19 - Wandering in Hanoi (ideally do some motorcycle riding away from city)
    Day 20 - Fly to BKK