Southeast Asia forum

Leaving in an month, budget, itinerary nerves/worries. Advice appreciated

• RTWnewbie

Joined Travelfish
    9th August, 2012

Hello everyone.

Firstly I will explain this is my first time doing any kind of travelling, I have just finished uni and like a lot of others had a real desire to travel and embrace the world and all its weird and wonderful differences. I will be going along with my long term girlfriend too.

So, down to business.

Our plan is to travel around SE Asia until the 6th January from which we will fly to Perth. (Already booked) We have a rough guide from reading on these forums of a route we would like to take (subject to change to our own personal preferences) and again from reading have seen some great tips....thank you everyone.

Basically to keep it short, we are taking £5,500 each with us and have flights purchased up to Australia on the 6th Jan. We are then planning on working in Oz (hopefully in the Outback) for 5/6months..visas already sorted.

From here is were we are beginning to worry.

Here is the rough itinerary:

Sept-Jan = SE Asia (Hostels, using buses/trains to move across countries)
    Jan-Jul = Australia (Working 5/6 months then travel)
    Jul-Aug = NZ (Hiring campervan, cycling etc)
    Aug- Sept = Peru & Bolivia (Hostels, buses/trains)
    Oct - Nov = North America (West to East)
    Nov- Dec = Africa (35day overland tour. Deposit paid)

So like I say we both have £5,500 each to last us as long as possible. Then whatever we earn from Australia to help fund the rest of the tour.

We predicted using the UK minimum wage that with working full time for 5months we could look to earn around £1000p/m.