Southeast Asia forum

Traveller Noob Advice!

• SophieJae

Joined Travelfish
    3rd January, 2013

Hi all,

I am 23 and have decided I NEED to go travelling! I plan on spending 2013 saving and planning so me and my partner can start our travels in 2014.

We ideally would only like to go for around 3-4 months with a budget of about £5,000 each (providing we can save that this year!). We would like to start in India and head up into Nepal. From Nepal, we will fly to Bangkok and then travel Thailand, Vietnam and Cambodia. From Cambodia, we would like to catch a flight over to Indonesia or Malaysia (haven't decided yet!) before returning to the UK.

Does £5,000 sound like a realistic amount to do that amount of travelling? I have never done anything like this before so it all seems extremely daunting. I have found what seems to be a good, legitimate tour package company called Gap360 who offer a 15 day trip from Delhi up into Nepal for £850 per person. This includes accomodation and a number of good excursions. I like the idea of these tours as I wouldnt mind having a little structure and guidance, at least for the first 2-4 weeks of our travels. Would you recommend this? I don't know whether we would be able to do something like that off our own back and for less money.

Any initial advice and tips would be much appreciated as I am just at the very start of my planning [img]smileys/smile.gif[/img] Thank you.

#1 Posted: 3/1/2013 - 07:56

• Advertisement

• caseyprich

Joined Travelfish
    3rd March, 2010
    Location China
    Total reviews: 53
    Places visited:
    At least 48