Southeast Asia forum

2.5 months in Southeast Asia

• WillMcP

Joined Travelfish
    11th February, 2013

Hi everyone,

I have done some travelling with through my job before - I am an engineer on cruise ships - however I have never gone on a backpacking trip before! I'm set on travelling SE Asia with a friend and have set aside 8 weeks to do so - leaving around October 1st of this year and returning in mid-December.

From reading other posts in forums I think the general consensus is to plan less and try not squeeze too many places in. I do, however, have a rough idea of an itintery and was wondering what you're thoughts are on it (please excuse any spelling errors):

Fly into Bangkok, night train up to Chiang Mai possibly stopping at Ayutthaya or Phitsanuok on the way, across Laos border into Houay Xai. From here a down to Luang Prabang, Viang Vang and Vietiane. From Vietiane fly across to Hanoi . Hanoi across to Halong Bay and back. From Hanoi I fancy doing some of the stops on the Reunification Railway - mainly Hue, Danang (for Hoi An), Nha Trang and finally HCMC. From HCMC into Cambodia to Phnom Penh and then up to Siem Reap . From Siem Reap back to Bangkok to catch night train down to South Thailand for some beach time - thinking Ko Phangan, Ko Tao, Krabi, Ko Phi Phi and back to Bangkok for a couple of days before flying home.

Is this a realistic route? I plan on travelling mainly by bus and train and believe about a week into total will be spent travelling from place to place

Also, how much money would be needed for such a trip, with numerous activites and excursions?

I look forward to hearing your replies and comments!

Will

#1 Posted: 11/2/2013 - 12:05

• Advertisement

• exacto

Joined Travelfish
    12th February, 2006
    Location United States
    Total reviews: 47
    Places visited:
    At least 98

Hi Will,