Southeast Asia forum

Need help.

• johancp

Joined Travelfish
    26th February, 2013

Hello everyone.
    I'm currently "planning" a trip to SE Asia. The thing is, that i'm not very good at planning and usually just take things as they come. As of right now, I'm travelling solo, and I have never gone backpacking before.
    First things first. I have 6.124 USD/4.033 GBP/4.691 EU to travel for. The flight costs are gifted. I will probably have a little more, but i don't know yet. How far will this get me, and where could i go, for how long. I'm planning on flying to Bankok, but other than that, its pretty much a blank itinerary.
    Where are some good places to go other then Thailand, and how long should i stay in different places? I'm planning on flying to Bali at some point. I'm using http://www.staralliance.com/en/booking/airpass-planner/# (the asia one), so if anyone could see what airports i could fly to, that are near good places.

Any advice,tips,stories that are relevant, etc would also be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks in advance :)

#1 Posted: 26/2/2013 - 10:50

• Advertisement

• Brute

Joined Travelfish
    16th December, 2012

I didn't get a chance to check the star alliance site, but I have usually gone with air Asia. You can use the sky tracker app if you have an I phone and it's mint for flight prices (compares all agents, airlines, and many sites for you to find the cheapest).

I have always budgeted 1200 per month of travel, keep in mind this is usually pretty comfortable and lots of people do it alot cheaper. You can go prob as low as 500 per month, but I like my diving and partying and move alot.

#2 Posted: 26/2/2013 - 18:43

• caseyprich

Joined Travelfish
    3rd March, 2010
    Location China
    Total reviews: 50
    Places visited:
    At least 43