Southeast Asia forum

A few questions for unexperienced international traveller

• sunshinehap-
    py

Joined Travelfish
    28th May, 2013

I'm heading Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand (with the majority of time in Vietnam) in November for 4 weeks, and was hoping some of you could help me with a few things.
    It is my first time traveling outside of New Zealand and Australia and am going to spend the first week by myself. I have traveled a lot around these places by myself, although I know Vietnam will be a shock.

I'm only taking carry-on and I'm pretty sorted with what I'm taking and what I need while still being under carry on limits and I'm not taking anything of value, except money, prepay debit cards and my passport. I am taking a mini laptop, old camera and old smartphone(probably just use as an mp3 player), but won't be particularly upset if these get lost or stolen.

What I would like to know is:

-As I happen to be a female, some people say it's dangerous to travel SE-Asia alone. Do you think it is? I feel like people are exaggerating.
    -Any tips to stay safe traveling abroad by myself for the first time? Of course I will use commonsense
    -Should I wear a money belt to keep my passport safe? Or just keep it in my day backpack, or is it safe to leave it at the hotel?
    -I was thinking of stashing cash in my bra and in a hidden pocket I have sewn onto my shorts and maybe onto my top. Anyone else done this?
    -What do you do with your valubles when swimming? Should I get a waterproof neck-pouch or can I just hide them in my bag under my towel like I do back home?
    -I am planning on doing the Visa on arrival (pre-arranged) thing. What is your experience with this at Hanoi airport and what company did you use? Also, where do I go once I get off the plane to get my visa? Is it difficult to find?