Southeast Asia forum

3 weeks, malaysia/viet/thailand...please help me start!

• slowtyper

Joined Travelfish
    21st July, 2013

I will be in asia for vacation Aug 22 to Sep 23. 1 week will be spent in Seoul, then my girl and I have three weeks to travel.

I prefer to stay in one area and just soak it up. My girlfriend prefers to see many wonderful things and different places, so we will have to compromise and do a bit of each. Luckily however,we both are not into big cities or tourist attractions that are very "touristy". Not really into lazing around on the beach. FOOD is a major facet of the trip. I'm a professional cook and love SE asian food and want to soak up as much as I can. No need for nightclubs.

I have family in Malaysia and will definitely spend a week in malaysia. Family is in Penang and Ipoh, and want to see brunei....what is a good place to go there? recommended to take a tour or just go and explore??

So after all that, we have two weeks left. (feels so short already). I was thinking a week in Thailand and a week in Vietnam...but more specific than that, I'm at a loss. Everyone I ask recommends different places, and there are so many!

I just discovered this forum and will be digging in deep in the next few weeks. Any help to get started would be appreciated!

Additional questions:
    What is the recommended way to find hotels (book online? Just go and look?) We don't want to stay in shared hostels, but we also don't need luxurious western style hotels. Something in between would be fine, we like the privacy and comfort of a hotel room but don't mind the charms of a local place. I have to keep budget in mind, however I don't mind spending a bit more for short haul flights to save time to maximize the experience.

I've used airbnb and been very happy with it in North America. Anyone have experience with something like this in asia?