Southeast Asia forum

5 Weeks - (Thailand) - Vietnam - Cambodia

• nikeshbjani

Joined Travelfish
    26th June, 2013

Hi Guys!
    This is my first time actually posting on the forums, I've been researching this trip for a while, and I've found reading through the posts here quite helpful, but I was hoping for some help on my itinerary?
    I'm travelling solo around Southeast Asia from the 15th August to 20th September (In and out of Bangkok), it's my first time in the part of the world, and one of my first times travelling alone (I did a short month long interrail last summer, so this is going to be very different to what I'm used to, which I find exciting)
    So I was initially thinking of spending a few days in Bangkok, then like 2 and a half weeks in Vietnam and 2 weeks in Cambodia, but now I'm thinking of having some time in Chiang Mai before returning to Bangkok and getting a flight to Hanoi, working my way overland (and the occasional flight if I must) through Vietnam and Cambodia to Bangkok. Is it ridiculous to even consider trying to fit in Chiang Mai before going to Vietnam? I know it seems a bit ridiculous when there's so many places in Vietnam that are supposed to be worth seeing but I didn't really want to go to Thailand and not see Chiang Mai.
    Anyway, here's my potential Itinerary - it's very loose and adds up to a few days less than I actually have (I think like 2), but what do people think? More than anything, is it feasible, if not what do people think is worth cutting out, and also is there anything that people think I need to add? I'm interested in a bit of everything really, especially history. Not too fussed about doing long treks, a few short excursions maybe, and potentially a few beach days (but not sure how much use that would be in rainy season?)

BKK - 2
    overnight train
    CHIANG MAI - 3 (5)
    BKK - 1 (6)
    HANOI - 2 (8)
    HALONG - 2 (10)
    SAPA - 2 (12)
    HOI AN - 3 (15)
    NHA TRANG (or Mui Ne) - 2 (18)