Southeast Asia forum

Completely new to this all... Advice for a 1.5 month trip

• katie123

Joined Travelfish
    3rd January, 2014

Hi Everyone,

I'm completely new to the backpacking world, after putting it off for years and constantly dreaming of going travelling.
    So I'm looking at finally doing it in July/Aug this year in the summer break.

I need some advice of where to travel. From scouring the forums I've seen that Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam might be a good idea for squeezing into a 1.5 month trip, but am open to all suggestions.

Also money wise - I have no idea how much I will need to save? Will be travelling from London, so any budget suggestions please let me know.

I will be travelling with another girlfriend, looking to explore as much as possible but as I have health conditions I don't want to push myself too much.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give!!
    Katie

#1 Posted: 3/1/2014 - 12:19

• Advertisement

• exacto

Joined Travelfish
    12th February, 2006
    Total reviews: 47

Hi Katie,

Have a look at the Planning section on the home page banner. It is a great way to get started building a picture of places you might want to visit - including sample intinerarie, what things will cost in different places, and how you can get from A to B. After that, look around through the Forum for similar questions to get a sense of what others have said. Once you've done that, come back with specific questions that folks can answer for you. The more details you include about yourself - your travel style, what you like to do, if you drink alcohol, etc., will help people respond with specific and up-to-date information.

Good on you for taking the plunge. Have a wonderful time. Cheers.

#2 Posted: 3/1/2014 - 16:00

• Geer1

Joined Travelfish
    14th September, 2012
    Places visited:
    At least 42