Southeast Asia forum

Thailand and afterwards Burma or Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia?

• xxIris

Joined Travelfish
    3rd April, 2014

Hi guys,

I am planning to travel in SEA in July/August for 7 weeks but I am still not sure about the exact countries I wanna go to.
    I have some experience backpacking (mostly Latin America but also the Philippines) and I prefer to get off the track and visit less-touristy sites without missing the main attractions. I'll probably travel alone although a friend might join me for part of the trip. For the whole trip I have about € 2,000 I can spend. I don't have a return flight yet so it doesn't really matter where my trip ends.

My idea was to fly into Bangkok (~ 3 days) and then take the overnight train to Chiang Mai. From there I'll go to Chiang Rai and visit some nearby places. ie. Angkhang, Mae Sai, Golden Triangle, White Temple, etc. I thought that will probably take me about a week. Afterwards I want to go back to Bangkok and take about 5 days to discover the South. Surat Thani and beautiful beaches nearby.

That's where my plan stops. I have no idea if I should head west or east from here.

What would you recommend:

Yangon, Burma and do a round trip there. Maybe even go to Dhaka, Bangladesh (I know it's not part of SEA anymore but I thought I should mention it ;) ) if there is time.
    or
    Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam.

If I go to Burma: How is it to travel alone as a woman? I heard accomodation can be a bit expensive. Is it really difficult to get around?
    If I head to Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam: How many countries would you say I can visit if I have about 4,5 weeks left? Should I just select one or two of them?

I hope my plans are not too ambitious again. Just give me some advice on what you think would be reasonable. I don't want to plan strictly every day as I might stay a day longer if I like a place really a lot. Still I want to experience a lot of different places if possible.

Thanks a lot for your help! :)

Iris