Southeast Asia forum

Stray??

• nikkihuss

Joined Travelfish
    8th April, 2014

Hi everyone,

I am planning a trip round Vietnam, Laos and Cambodia in September 2014. I will be travelling by myself and it's my first time in Sourth East Asia. I have been researching the tour group - Stray. Just wanted to know if anyone had used them/your thoughts??

I think it may be safer then me flying solo however I want a proper 'travelling' experience and think this may be a bit commercial??

Thanks in advance for any help!!!

#1 Posted: 8/4/2014 - 10:15

• Advertisement

• chinarocks

Joined Travelfish
    17th June, 2011

By definition, you will not get much traction from the contributors on this website to the idea of a tour group.

I have never heard of them, nor have I ever used a tour group for any of my travels. They are overpriced and spend a minimal amount of time in each place, often just shepherding you up to a famous sight to take a few pictures before you get back on a bus. Your desire to have a "proper travelling experience" would be severely compromised should you use one of these.

SEA is one of the easiest parts of the world to get around, there is literally a service for anything you could imagine. I think if you have a modicum of common sense and take the usual precautions (particularly in relation to bus and train operators) then you should be fine.

Apologies if that's not the answer you were after.

#2 Posted: 8/4/2014 - 10:55

• exacto

Joined Travelfish
    12th February, 2006
    Location United States
    Total reviews: 47
    Places visited:
    At least 98

Hi Nikki,

There is no "proper" travelling experience. Whatever gets you out of your comfort zone and into the world is great.