Southeast Asia forum

First time travelling and going solo

• Prairie_Matt

Joined Travelfish
    19th May, 2014

Hey Everyone,

I have finally decided to act on a dream I have had for a very long time. I have wanted to backpack through Southeast Asia since I graduated high school but have never had anyone to come with me. I am now ready to go at it alone and not wait for someone.

The Plan:
    Head over to Bangkok at the end of April/beginning of May 2015 and take about 5-6 weeks and to go through Cambodia, Vietnam and Thailand.

My must-sees:
    1.) Angkor Wat
    2.) HCMC/Saigon
    3.) Mekong Delta
    4.) Halong Bay
    5.) Chiang Mai
    6.) Koh Tao
    7.) Koh Samui
    8.) Railay/Phi Phi
    9.) there are a couple other small places that are day trips from the locations listed above.

Some Questions:
    1.) What are some places that I should not bother going to because of weather at that time of year?

2.) Is it dumb to entertain the idea of bringing an iPad with me?

3.) How much cash should someone carry with them at any one time? (Im trying to determine what bank package to get)

4.) Im just under 6'5 and am unsure if I should bring every piece of clothing/footwear with me or will there be my sizes there? (Men's XL tops, 38 waist short/pant and size 13 shoes/sandals)

5.) I am intending on bringing around $4000-$4500 Canadian dollars, after flights to SEA. I am wanting to do a couple night cruise through Halong Bay, PADI certification in Koh Tao, possibly a boat cruise from Phnom Penh to HCMC. I am also intending to take flights from Bangkok to Siem Reap, Hanoi to Bangkok, Bangkok to Chiang Mai (return). I would also like to have a single A/C room for about 2/3 of the time or so. I am not a big drinker so I wont be spending a ton on booze. Will this be enough?

6.) What is a good size bag or the biggest bag to bring to not have to check it on buses/trains/flights within SEA?