Southeast Asia forum

Thailand, Cambodia, Laos - How long to go for?

• Munkychump

Joined Travelfish
    28th December, 2006

Hi guys,

I'm heading to Europe in a few months and thought I'd stop off in SEA on the way through (since it doesn't cost any extra)... I have been to Vietnam in 2007 (in which Travelfish was a great help!) so I want to cover off Thailand, Cambodia and Laos this time around.

Just wondering how long I should leave to explore before heading on to Europe?

I won't be making a detailed itinerary but want to have a rough idea of where to travel and keeping with these main points:

- I will be leaving at the end of October and flying into and (eventually) out of Bangkok.

- I am probably going to follow the crowd and spend New Years at the Full Moon party.

- I'd like to avoid mass tourist migration and hopefully go the road less travelled, although it is my first time travelling solo.

- I'd like to see as much of each country as possible but my budget (not including air travel) is about $5000 and I'm more keen to see Laos and Cambodia than Thailand.

I was thinking of the following rough plan..

1st week Nov - Thailand (getting adjusted to travelling)
    2nd wk - 1st week Dec - Cambodia
    2nd wk Dec - Head to Ko Phangan to beat the rush and secure accomodation.
    After new years head up to Nth Thailand and into Laos
    then back into Thailand for the flight out of Bangkok

I thought doing Cambodia in November would beat the main tourist rush around Christmas/New Year and then to do Laos in January as I assume it receives less Tourists than Thailand or Cambodia.

A few extra questions..
    Can I enter Thailand unlimited times without a visa (assuming I leave within 30 days)?
    How long do I need to explore North and South Laos without rushing?
    Is 4 weeks enough to do a good run in Cambodia?

And I guess the big question is how long will $5000 last me as that's the biggest deciding factor?!