Southeast Asia forum

3 week roundtrip Thailand - Cambodja - Vietnam

• Lawoat

Joined Travelfish
    29th June, 2009
    Total reviews: 5

Hi All,

Me and 2 friends are currently doing some research for our 3 week roundtrip in South East Asia in November. We are defenitely interested in history (I studied archeology at university ;-), culture, nature. No interest in beaches ;-)

Please find below the itinerary so far:

- Brussels - Bangkok
    - 2 full days in Bangkok
    - Travel by train and bus overland to Siem Reap
    - 2 full days in Siem Reap
    - travel to Pnom Penh by boat
    - 2 full days in Pnom Penh
    - travel from Pnom Penh to Saigon
    - 2 full days in Saigon, day 2 leave to Hue on nighttrain
    - from Hue then we have around 8 days to get to Hanoi to catch a flight to get back to Bangkok

As you see we are not planning on taking any flights in South East Asia, we would like to do everything by boat - bus - train. Only thing that concerns me bit is the last week to get from South-Vietnam to North Vietnam by train; 1 week doesn't seem enough to me and we defenitely would want to go to Halong Bay.

All comments are welcome!

greeting from Belgium

#1 Posted: 30/6/2009 - 00:29

• Advertisement

• BruceMoon

Click here to learn more about BruceMoon
    Joined Travelfish
    27th December, 2008
    Location Australia
    Total reviews: 6

Lawoat

I suggest you are taking on far more than you can manage.

Elsewhere, I've constantly berated people for spending far too much time in buses/planes/trains/boats/etc. The criticism is equally valid for your journey.

Let me be frank: the least enjoyable part of any holiday is the tedium of travel. But, to get a taste of various places, one needs to travel.

The following train/bus trips are tedious and boring:

BKK to Siem Reap
    Siem Reap to Pnom Penh by boat
    Pnom Penh to Saigon
    Saigon to Hue on nighttrain.