Southeast Asia forum

Thailand, Laos, Cambodia: Another itinerary to rate!

• jonny5

Joined Travelfish
    14th September, 2009

Hello everyone,

I'm an American student currently living in Japan. This whole thing started as a glorified visa run, but I eventually decided on make a real (but too short) trip out of it. I'm a reasonably experienced traveller (probably not experienced as most of you, though!), but this will be my first time in SE Asia. As much as I want to have an "authentic" experience and meet and interact with locals, I can't help but notice my current plans are pretty much only the big tourist hot spots. Of course, my main interests are history and food, so I'm not sure it can be helped too much! Oh, and I'm going next week! (I think I should've done this earlier, but...)

I never stick to an itinerary, but this is a rough idea of the route I want to take:

27th & 28th: Bangkok
    29: Aranya Prathet
    30: Poipet to Battambang
    October 1st: Battambang
    2-5: Siem Reap
    6: Fly to Vientiane
    7: Vientiane
    8: ? (From what I hear, VV wouldn't really be my cup of tea, but I think a pit stop along the way is a good idea.)
    9 - 14: Luang Prabang and surrounds
    15: Fly into Chiang Mai
    16: Chiang Rai (I have a Thai friend I'm meeting here, and there's a night train to Ayutthaya , right?)
    17: Ayutthaya - Bangkok
    18: Fly back to Japan

Let me know what you think, please! Thank you!
    Jonny

P.S. Should I have already booked the flights to Siem Reap and Chiang Mai? I can still do that fairly cheaply in country, right?

#1 Posted: 17/9/2009 - 13:14

• Advertisement

• MADMAC

Joined Travelfish
    6th June, 2009
    Total reviews: 10

Alternatively you might spend a little time in Bangkok, see the sights, then head to some place like Nong Khai on the night train, hang out there for a while and see how the "interacting with locals" goes. Then head to Vientiane.

#2 Posted: 18/9/2009 - 01:32

• exacto

Joined Travelfish