Flag of Indonesia

Indonesia forum

East Timor into Indonesia overland, then boat between islands, 2months

• hmeyer

Joined Travelfish
    11th November, 2010

Hi all,
    This is my first time on Travelfish. I'm a solo female traveller, looking for some advice on the best way of travelling from East Timor into Indonesia. I'd like to cross overland into West Timor and then travel by boat via some of the smaller islands in the archipelago, then Java, Sumatra, and into Malaysia. I have 2 months in Indonesia as part of a 12month trip around Asia.

My questions are:
    - is it possible (and safe) to cross from east to west timor
    - how do I go about travelling via ocean between the islands of Indonesia

Any advice would be appreciated, I look forward to hearing from you!
    Han

#1 Posted: 11/11/2010 - 09:19

• Advertisement

• mooball

TF writer
    Joined Travelfish
    19th June, 2010
    Location Australia

Of course the exact route by ocean is going to determine which boats you catch, but ferries go to all the islands, but they are infrequent and incredibly slow -- and they often sink. Although there are some resources online and in guidebooks on Pelni schedules, I think it would be incredibly difficult to create a plan in advance. Might be best to roll up into Kupang and figure it out as you go I think.

#2 Posted: 22/11/2010 - 19:47

• queefmeister

Joined Travelfish
    9th December, 2010

Hi Hmeyer,

I'm planning on doing the same trip, but in reverse in June.

I found this map of the shipping routes, it seems pretty useful (but is 4 years out of date) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Pelni_Schifffahrtsnetz_2006.png