Photo: The back blocks of Candi Dasa.

Indonesia forum

East Timor into Indonesia overland, then boat between islands, 2months

Posted by hmeyer on 11/11/2010 at 09:19

Hi all,
This is my first time on Travelfish. I'm a solo female traveller, looking for some advice on the best way of travelling from East Timor into Indonesia. I'd like to cross overland into West Timor and then travel by boat via some of the smaller islands in the archipelago, then Java, Sumatra, and into Malaysia. I have 2 months in Indonesia as part of a 12month trip around Asia.

My questions are:
- is it possible (and safe) to cross from east to west timor
- how do I go about travelling via ocean between the islands of Indonesia

Any advice would be appreciated, I look forward to hearing from you!
Han

#1 hmeyer has been a member since 11/11/2010. Posts: 2

Posted by mooball on 22/11/2010 at 19:47 TF writer

Of course the exact route by ocean is going to determine which boats you catch, but ferries go to all the islands, but they are infrequent and incredibly slow -- and they often sink. Although there are some resources online and in guidebooks on Pelni schedules, I think it would be incredibly difficult to create a plan in advance. Might be best to roll up into Kupang and figure it out as you go I think.

#2 mooball has been a member since 19/6/2010. Location: Australia. Posts: 429
 Where has mooball been?   Twitter   Google+   Instagram 

Posted by queefmeister on 9/12/2010 at 16:21

Hi Hmeyer,

I'm planning on doing the same trip, but in reverse in June.

I found this map of the shipping routes, it seems pretty useful (but is 4 years out of date) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Pelni_Schifffahrtsnetz_2006.png