Flag of Indonesia

Indonesia forum

Car Hire in Indonesia

• camillasw

Joined Travelfish
    28th April, 2011

I am going to Indonesia for 8 weeks over the summer and was thinking about hiring a car with 3 friends and driving around Bali or Lombok. Has anyone had any experience with car hire? Is driving in Indonesia very different to England? (Last summer we went to Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia so I have had some experience of the crazy Asian driving-styles!) Any tips, warnings, recommendations are welcome. Thanks!

#1 Posted: 18/5/2011 - 03:22

• Advertisement

• busylizzy

Joined Travelfish
    31st December, 2007
    Location New Zealand
    Total reviews: 20
    Places visited:
    At least 107

I would say driving a car is VERY different to what you are used to at home - but it's doable. All road rules as you know it will no longer exist!

I hired jeeps in Bali and Lombok without any problem. They are readily available, and reasonably cheap. Key thing is to take photos of the car on the day that you pick it up (especially noting any existing damage), and make sure there is some sort of insurance coverage.

Driving around the busier areas of Kuta/Legian is nightmarish in that the roads are incredibly narrow and you have to be on constant alert for pedestrians, motorbikes and dogs that will have no hesitation in jumping out in front of you, and/or will go the wrong way down the road. Once you get out of that area, it's reasonably good driving around. Just don't expect the vast motorways that you are used to in England!