Flag of Indonesia

Indonesia forum

A Month in Indonesia

• lowalker147

Joined Travelfish
    12th July, 2011

I would like to spend a month in Indonesia and have narrowed it down to Bali, Kalimantan and Sulawesi. Can someone recommend places go and guides in Kalimantan and Sulawesi?

Also, because of transportation technicalities, would it be better to skip out on Sulawesi or Kalimantan and do Java? It seems like it be easier to get to these two places by boat from Java than from Bali where I'd have to fly. Can someone advise me on what to do?

#1 Posted: 12/7/2011 - 07:16

• Advertisement

• busylizzy

Joined Travelfish
    31st December, 2007
    Location New Zealand
    Total reviews: 20
    Places visited:
    At least 107

I'm not an expert on Sulawesi or Kalimantan - but yes, if you only have a month, assume that you would have to fly. Are you on a particularly tight budget that means you prefer a boat to flying? (This will affect your options).

It's hard to know what to recommend without knowing what you want out of your travels. What sort of experiences are you looking for? Time on the beaches? Trekking opportunities? Off the beaten track experiences? Bali will give you a completely different experience to Sulawesi or Kalimantan or Java.

If you're keen on the beach-scene and night-life and scenery/trekking - Bali could be the way to go. Bali is probably the easiest to get around, and you have the opportunity to island hop to Lombok, Lembongan, Gili islands, etc.

Java is quite a different experience. I enjoyed Yogykarta (Borobudor and Prambanan temples) and Mt Bromo (volcanic mountains). I also believe there are nice islands at the Jarkarta end that might be worthy of a visit. But out of the options you suggested, it would probably be the area that least interested me - but it could be convenient if you only have a month. Java combined with Bali maybe.