Photo: The back blocks of Candi Dasa.

Indonesia forum

Chimpanzee and other primates

Posted by trevadea on 13/8/2011 at 03:45

We are going to be traveling around Nov. To May and my daughter is studying up on primates. Anyone have suggestions of places that are a must see? Thanks, treva

#1 trevadea has been a member since 14/3/2011. Posts: 4

Posted by SBE on 13/8/2011 at 04:39

You can see orang outangs at Bukit Lawang on the island of Sumatra. I saw both orang outangs and leaf monkeys there.

#2 SBE has been a member since 14/4/2008. Location: Global Village. Posts: 2,002
 Where has SBE been? 

Posted by KirstyB on 13/8/2011 at 05:55

I know you've posted in Indonesia but if monkeys are what you're after maybe consider Borneo - Kalimantan in Indonesian Borneo has some possibilities but not easily accessible. However Malaysian Borneo has good opportunities for orang utangs and probiscus monkeys both in Sabah and Sarawak. I'm not a monkey expert by any stretch and I stand to be corrected but I thought chimpanzees were only in Africa??

#3 KirstyB has been a member since 27/7/2008. Location: Global Village. Posts: 151
 Where has KirstyB been?   Website   Twitter   Facebook  

Posted by trevadea on 13/8/2011 at 09:10

Excellent! I will look into both places, thank you! Treva

#4 trevadea has been a member since 14/3/2011. Posts: 4

Posted by MADMAC on 13/8/2011 at 11:11

Kirsty I think you are correct.

#5 MADMAC has been a member since 6/6/2009. Posts: 6,957

Posted by eastwest on 13/8/2011 at 11:58

Entirely correct.
There are only 4 primate species and only 1 of them can be found in Asia and that is the orang utang.
The others, chimpanzee, gorilla and bonobo can only be found in Africa.
But who am I educating? OP has a daughter that studies the subject.

Monkeys are plenty and everywhere. Cambodia does have some beautiful Gibbons near Koh Kong.

#6 eastwest has been a member since 17/12/2009. Posts: 778

Posted by trevadea on 13/8/2011 at 12:20