Flag of Indonesia

Indonesia forum

A little help please! Planing a month long trip from java to bali and possibly flores.

• clayeee

Joined Travelfish
    21st May, 2014
    Location Singapore

Hi all!

I'm from Singapore and is in the midst of planning a month long trip in indo. I absolutely love bali and have been going there for years. This is my first time going on a long trip alone, so i'm quite frighten but super excited at the same time.

I just quit my job and have a month long break in between before my next job. So i figured it'll be a damn good opportunity to spend it exploring indo. Been following this forum for weeks and the more i read, the more confused i get.

I'm planning to do the Java to Bali overland trip and finally ending my trip in Bali. Along the way in java, the must sees for me are Borobudur, Dieng Plateau, Bromo and Kawah Ijen. When researching for these bits. Getting to a city is easy, like by bus or train. But for all my must sees, do i book a tour with my guest house or can i just rent a motorbike and go by my own?

For example, do i check into a guesthouse near Bromo and book a tour at the front desk. Or do i book a tour with accommodation included? I love exploring with a scooter at my own pace and plan to do this around yogja city. But what are some of the sights that i should probably be better off with a guide? I have an Indo sim card from my bali trips to access google maps when i lost on the bike. Is yogya or anywhere in java google maps ready?

Also, i'm a huge foodie and i love the ocean. Any good markets or local foods that i shouldn't miss? And lastly, i'm considering flying in to Flores from Bali to check out the island for a few days before spending a long surf stay and relax in Bali (hopefully 10 days or more). Is it a good idea or should i just save it for the next trip?

Thank u all in advance! Really appreciate the help!

Clay

#1 Posted: 22/5/2014 - 01:14

• Advertisement

• captainbkk

Joined Travelfish