Flag of Laos

Laos forum

Luang Namtha Photographs

• kees5

Joined Travelfish
    11th August, 2010

I have been documenting Luang Namtha province since 2002. My photographs of ethnic diversity in that province can be viewed at
    http://kees.zenfolio.com/
    and
    http://www.pbase.com/kees5/root&page=all

#1 Posted: 11/8/2010 - 12:14

• Advertisement

• somsai

Joined Travelfish
    1st March, 2006
    Location United States

I started looking at your web site a couple days ago, then just this evening I went over to the Things Asian article. No words to describe the photos, so many so different. I really liked reading about how you take photos, you reinforced some ideas I'd arrived at on my own. I too came to understand it doesn't have to be about me, and what I'm looking for in a photo it's about what the subject wants. Returning to the same village a few times certainly changes things.

I'm going to take the time over the next few days to meander through the photos.

#2 Posted: 12/8/2010 - 10:11

• kees5

Joined Travelfish
    11th August, 2010

I had some people complaining there are too many images in each folder. The reason for that is that same you mentioned: It is not about me, it is about what maybe some people want to see in detail. Different people look for different things.
    Thank you for your feedback, and I'm interested to hear what else you pick up. Any additional information on things you see is also welcome.
    I have tried to add comments to photos, titles. or context, but it is a huge job, and in the first place I'd like to have as many as possible pictures online, and am adding descriptions later.

#3 Posted: 12/8/2010 - 12:25

• LaoNow

Joined Travelfish
    14th May, 2010

Thanks for the pics, I especially like the Lanten pics because they seem so shy when I encounter them around Luang Namtha I'm afraid to ask to take their picture up close. I also like the little kids pics cause they often scowl when looking at me behind the camera!