Flag of Laos

Laos forum

travel books

• ptgirl

Joined Travelfish
    13th November, 2006

Hi, i am planning a trip to Laos for Feb/March 2007. I have always been impartial to Lonely planet and Rough Guides for travel. However i notice that up to date editions of both are limited to 2005 for lonely planet and i think 2002 for RG. However i noticed that Footprint has an edition in 2006. Has anyone used Footprint? I have never used it before. Or is the latest version of Laos/lonelyplanet pretty accurate for the current time? Thanks in advance!

#1 Posted: 13/11/2006 - 00:42

• Advertisement

• somtam2000

admin
    Click here to learn more about somtam2000
    Joined Travelfish
    21st January, 2004
    Location Indonesia
    Total reviews: 24
    Places visited:
    At least 113

Hi ptgirl,

Welcome to Travelfish!

LP ar researching their new LP at the moment, but it will be another 9 months at least (closer to a year), before the book is released.

I'm not sure about Rough Guide's update schedule, but their existing book, particularly the background information is excellent.

The new Footprint is very very good. I've not used them much but when I picked up their new Laos book I found it very impressive -- and I'm not saying that because they gave us a plug! Certainly worth a try.

#2 Posted: 13/11/2006 - 05:54

• longleat

Joined Travelfish
    12th October, 2006

I believe the new Rough Guide for Laos will be out Feb. 2007.

#3 Posted: 13/11/2006 - 07:28

• ptgirl

Joined Travelfish
    13th November, 2006

Hi, thanks very much for your posts! Just wondering how easy it would be to pick up say the RG in February if i were travelling in Cambodia/vietnam around that time.

#4 Posted: 13/11/2006 - 10:25

• pilgrim

Joined Travelfish
    6th August, 2006

The new Rough guides for Lao and Thailand are due out this month. The travel bookstore I just checked with is hoping to have them in the next week or two...