Flag of Laos

Laos forum

12 days BKK to Laos, northern Laos Itinerary help (LP and points north)

• jaxphoto

Joined Travelfish
    8th February, 2011

This forum in fantastic, I'm hoping to lightly nail down my plans and I need help to know if this is feasible in 12 days. I am interested in delving into the culture of Laos and getting to know the people who live there (not so much other tourists). I'm a photographer and am looking to take quite a few pictures but would like to avoid cheasy tourist traps or fake photo opps.

I arrive into Bangkok Feb 26 (really midnight Feb 25th) and have a March 9th departure from Bangkok back home.

Fly into Bangkok, spend one day to recover from flight from US, then fly a budget airline one way -> Luang Prabang

Luang Prabang bus to -> Phonsavan (plain of jars) [Phonsavan is a side trip, worth doing? Does the bus definitely take 9 hours? any other way to get here?]
    Phonsavan bus back to Luang Prabang

Luang Prabang via boat ideally -> Muang Ngoi

ok here is where it gets muddy in my mind:
    Muang Ngoi -> Udomxai
    Udomxai -> Luang Nam Tha
    Luang Nam Tha -> Muang Sing
    Muang Sing -> Xieng Kok
    Xieng Kok -> Huay Xai
    Huay Xai -> Chaing Rai/Chaing Mai
    Chaing Mai overnight train back to -> Bangkok

Of this list of place here are the ones that most interest me, but I don't know if I can get to them directly skipping the midpoints:
    Luang Prabang, Muang Ngoi, Luang Nam Tha, Muang Sing, Chaing Mai/Chaing Rai

If it's possible to get from Luang Nam Tha back to Huay Xai to cross into Thailand that might give me a looser travel schedule (cancelling out the Muang Sing -> Xieng Kok -> Huay Xai) portion. or would not hitting those be a mistake?

I also read a few things about Nhong Kai in Thailand, would it be a wiser option to cross back into Thailand here, spend a day and then catch the overnight train back to Bangkok?