Flag of Laos

Laos forum

Northern Thailand to Laos - advice much appreciated

• Poohh

Joined Travelfish
    18th January, 2014

Hi all,

At July 21st my visa for Thailands ends, so I need to leave the country. Since I'll be in the North, I thought it makes sense to pick Laos as my next destination. As far as I know now, the border crossing Huay Xai / Chiang Khong is the one to pick from Chiang Rai. But after that I'm in the dark....I don't wan't to take the slow boat, and the other option is the bus to Luang Prabang. As I understand, the latter is a really long and uncomfortable ride, and I wonder how others have designed ther way further into Laos. Maybe break up the trip and include orther places? Any advice and is much appreciated!! I'm a 34-year solo female traveler, and this is my first time in SEA. Thailand so far has been easy, but probably Laos wil not be so easy to get around?

If anyone is considering the same trip....let me know!

-P

#1 Posted: 30/6/2014 - 04:53

• Advertisement

• Captain_Bob

Click here to learn more about Captain_Bob
    Joined Travelfish
    27th May, 2006
    Location Thailand

See map here. Bus Huay Xai to Luang Namtha about 4 hours. Nice chilled-out town with a modicum of convenience (ATM, paved roads, several guesthouses, etc.) Good place to rent a bike (pedal or power) and explore the surrounding villages, temples, etc. This map freely distributed around town. From there if you get the first am bus (bus station 8km out of town on the highway) you can go to Oudomxai then Nong Khiaw same day. Another good destination and a few hours before Luang Prabang.

More travel info here

#2 Posted: 30/6/2014 - 07:27

• Poohh

Joined Travelfish
    18th January, 2014

That helps, thanks lot!