Flag of Laos

Laos forum

Laos in Nov-Dec tentative schedule

• pamjane

Joined Travelfish
    5th June, 2009

My girlfriend and I will be traveling from Thailand>Laos>Cambodia for a couple of months at the end of the year. I've figured out the first part of the "maybe" course to take, but I'd love input from people who know Laos. Also, I get quite confused when I get to the south, because I'm running out of days... so that's where my plan is halted at the moment.

This is my first time in SE Asia, and my first time planning independent travel, so any ideas or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

I've heard and read that Laos is very laid-back and, in being so, slow. I'm a bit nervous that I'm trying to do too much. I hope to have a full 30 days in the country, but I'll plan for 27 days, just in case:

1: Enter Huay Xai from Thailand

2-4: Gibbon Exp.

5: LuangNamTha>Udomxai>MuangKhua

6-8: MuangKhua slowboat to Luang Prabang (or to Nong Khia, then bus to Luang Prabang... any input?)

9-12: Luang Prabang

12-14: fly to Phonsavan, POJ

15: bus to Vientiane

15-17: Vientiane

18-21: bus to Ban Khoun Kham> ThamKongLo (2-day trek)

*this is where things especially get muddled. I want to spend some time in Southern Laos, but I'm running out of days.

I'm thinking of skipping through ThaKhaek, down to Savannakhet for a possible 2-day trek, then going to Pakse for a couple of days (I'd like to visit Tad Nguing), then boat or bus to Champasak for a couple of days, OR go over to Kiet Ngong and do the trek to TaOng there. Then, I feel like the trip wouldn't be complete without some time on the southern islands. This is tacking a few days onto the plan that won't be on the visa. Help? :)

#1 Posted: 23/6/2009 - 12:59

• Advertisement

• MADMAC

Joined Travelfish
    6th June, 2009
    Total reviews: 10

If you come to Savanakhet and want to cross over to Thailand - drop me a line. I live right across the river in Mukdahan. You don't sound like a psycho...